plz help!!@!!

July 26, 2010 § 8 Comments

Hey guys!
As promised I have a few updates for you all.
On the running front things are going pretty well. I’ve been running several times a week!  Post 5K I’ve only been doing 1.5- 2 mile runs. :( But, I sucked it up and ran 2/3 days on vacation. What a first for me. That vacation (you’re probably thinking: what?! that girl LIVES at the beach!) took place in Wildwood, NJ. I’m visiting my Dad in PA until early August and we wave jumped and burned to a crisp as a family all this weekend!

BCBG girls top I'm loving

Feelin' the burn

Now I’m back (right outside of Philadelphia) until the first week in August. Keep an eye out for an update on eats and the good times here. :D I’m headed back to South Carolina until early September. So does this mean I have a school plan for the fall? You bet your sweet little bloggie self I do!

If you remember, late spring I was going through a bit of a school crisis. I was loving my university (New Mexico State) but not a fan of the location. That statement still is the truth. After a few meltdowns and tears I got down to business. I started looking for alternatives. I wasn’t happy and didn’t feel comfortable going back. BUT I hadn’t anticipated being so upset as to look for other programs as soon as I felt something was wrong.

Plan B (no not that kind of plan) kicked in. I visited two community colleges and even considered going for massage therapy for income until I made up my mind where and when to return to school. A good friend of mine turned me on to a nanny program starting in September. 

Annie the nanny stats:
a six month program
it is an accredited private school and will count for 16 credits
I am able to live with a local family while in town if I give 15 hours of babysitting per week
great travel opportunity (patience…I’ll give it up soon!)
so absolutely perfectly ME

I want to work with children for the rest of my life. The reason I decided to become a psychology major was to be able to work with kids in therapy, a camp, or school setting. This is going to be a great experience and work opportunity next spring, summer, and for as long as I want to. It can also ease the burden of student loans when I do go back to school full time.

Flashbackies for the soul

spuds, mom, and me

cousin, myself, and spud

baby spud

age seven. refrained from a peace sign i guess...

Today:

spud grown up!

 To Portland, Oregon it is!! Nanny school here I come!

Which brings me to another exciting bit of news. Portland seems to be home to a lot of awesome runs. Specifically the half marathon coming up in October! I’m not sure if it is something I should shoot for or not. My schedule will be pretty full. However, I want to make time to run at least five days out of the week. What do you guys think? Anyone out there dying to instruct me? I’m a girl who can take direction! Give me a training schedule and I will rock it out. I want to stay focused and be able to succeed and make it through the race this fall without collapsing.

Thanks for sticking it out with me!

xoxo, Annie

§ 8 Responses to plz help!!@!!

  • Wow that Nanny schools sounds awesome! I’m currently a nanny but never went to school for — so cool! I’m actually a Registered Dietitian :P

    Anyyywayyy, here is a training program for novie half marathoners: http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/novice.htm

    Enjoy! His website has a lot of great stuff!

  • genesis says:

    yay youre coming to the west coast! we’re considering a move into oregon from washington so who knows we might be just a town away :)

    i would think that there will be enough time to train for the portland half. runners world has a great training program you can tailor to your speed. i think its their smart coach program. check out their website.

  • EmbraceYourSkin says:

    I’m so glad you chose Portland! I am moving to Corvallis, about an hour and a half south of Portland, late next month, so we should totally have a blogger meetup! I also know another blogger in Portland who I have been talking to about a meetup :)
    This program sounds like a great fit for you, I think you will be really happy! Congrats!

  • Look at you! That nanny school sounds awesome, girl – i’m so glad you’re finding something that works for you location wise and passion wise. You and spud are cuties! Love it!

  • Yes check out Hal Higdon’s training plans — and most of them have you running only 3-4 days per week. Those old pics are adorable!

  • I lived in NM for a few years so I know that some of their towns take a little getting used to – definitely a different lifestyle out there.

    Portland sounds like a better place to be able to get yourself together and figure next steps – shoot, my BF’s sister has a full-time nanny who finished college as a child psychology major because she wants to work with kids too. And she’s deferred grad school and has stayed on being a nanny because she loves it so much.

  • katecooks says:

    portland is supposed to be fabulous…you must be so excited! why live somewhere that doesnt make you happy if it’s possible to make a change, right?!

  • Barbara says:

    So nice you have found something which really makes you happy :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading plz help!!@!! at Little Miss Potato.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

