shocking.

September 22, 2010 § 8 Comments

A quick post for you all in between classes to let you know what’s been on my mind.

My alma mater in South Carolina has been in absolute crisis mode for almost 24 hours. Yesterday afternoon a young teenage boy came to school with a gun. He attempted to shoot the resource officer but thankfully missed. However, when the gun was fired a piece of the bullet ricocheted off an object in his office and he sustained a face wound. The officer was able to hold down fourteen year old until fellow employees and teachers reacted to the noise of the gun.

I read Facebook updates from my dear friend who is a senior. He informed friends and family that they were ushered outdoors to wait on the football field and in the bleachers. Instantly, additional Facebook and Twitter updates came pouring in. Rumors about who may have done it swirled around and possible motives were exhausted too. The most important update was that every single student was safe.

This situation could have been exponentially worse than it was. I don’t even want to imagine what could have happened had it not played out the way it did. From what it sounds like, this may have been a suicide attempt. I imagine he thought upon seeing the smuggled gun, the officer would use his own in self-defense.  I don’t know what was running through his mind. What if his plan was to harm anyone else in my school? Bomb squads in the area discovered several pipe bombs planted throughout the school as well. I am so grateful for the officer and teams protecting my friends and former teachers from any harm.

My younger brother had several classes in middle school with the fourteen year old boy.
Note: I will absolutely not say the boy’s name. It hasn’t been released or confirmed. 
My younger brother does not attend this high school. After finishing middle school he was accepted into a  private school and was able to advance a year.

I still find it heartbreaking. Eric and I talked about what his thoughts were on the whole day. He didn’t find out anything until he was out of school. A lot of his old friends were updating him as time went on. He says he noticed the boy was depressed a few years ago but hadn’t kept in touch with him. He directed me to his public Twitter profile (they were not “friends” and Eric hadn’t read any of his updates until last night).

Keep in mind, I don’t know this profile belongs to the child that attacked SHS. But let’s be real here. And yes, another issue here is that none of his followers alerted an adult about these Tweets! This could have been prevented. Teenagers have more power than they realize. I wish in this time around it was used for good.

He may or may not be charged as an adult. My feelings about that don’t matter right now. I just ask that you keep my beach town in your prayers and thoughts. I would do anything to be home right now.    

Questions: Have you ever experienced a school related crisis? What do you think makes a hero?

I think each of you rock!
Xoxo, Annie

§ 8 Responses to shocking.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading shocking. at Little Miss Potato.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

