Ode to my first apartment

April 29, 2010 § 14 Comments

Hey guys! Things are really starting to fall into place for summer ’10 and my sophmore year. Who spent yesterday evening on the phone crying to their mom thinking they were going to drop out of school and fall of the face of the earth? Me? No way! 😉

Who is currently dancing around barefoot to sweet jams in her empty apartment? Me? No way!

Before I get into the fun stuff, how about we take a look at some progress in the past week:

OPERATION FINISH LINE:
Selling and donating apartment furniture
– Moving out of my college town place for the summer <–Friday, Friday!
Making sure this place is spotless to I avoid being charged out the a$$ in fees
Finding an inexpensive storage space to hold some things I’ll need until August
Signing up for an honors doom room with my homegirl Christina for next year
– Studying for and taking each of my finals
– Finalizing summer plans (possibly three cities and at least two jobs in four months)

Now, a story for you all. It really is an ode of sorts. An ode to my first apartment! After an event filled cross country adventure (how about we save that for another post, eh?) The Boyfriend and I immediately met up with our future land lord’s assistant to go over boring things the terms of our agreement. Believe me, the confused face is just for the camera. I hope…

 Renting your first place can be so stressful. We were excited to see this view for the first time. Looking out at the mountains during a shower is so relaxing.

Spring came and so did jobs and new friends. We also cooked an assortment of delicious goodies 😉 


 We hosted over a dozen couch surfers


I loved spending time visiting downtown jems and playing for hours at White Sands



Summer brought us a foster kitty

A birthday was celebrated


Day trips were taken


This school year has hosted an outrageous apartment flood


Several psychology study sessions


 Countless Starbucks breaks


 And some new friends



Tonight I’m looking back on each memory and smiling. 2009-2010 has been a wild ride. Here’s to new beginnings!

 Some questions for you, the reader! I’ll answer too 🙂
What has been your favorite memory in the past year?
When my mom visited this fall for my birthday and went to a festival with the The Boyfriend and I.
I also really loved going home and spending time with my dad, his gf and my little brother.

 

 

 

 


What are you most looking forward to in the upcomming year?

Making my body healthy enough to train for my first race. Wait…race? Did I just write that?!? You guys inspire me.

PS- If you have a chance stop by solskinn88’s page to read about Jillian Michaels and her take on pregnancy. Very interesting stuff!  http://solskinn88.wordpress.com/2010/04/26/what-type-of-society-do-we-want-to-live-in/

§ 14 Responses to Ode to my first apartment

  • Christina says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    Congrats on finishing your first year of college!

  • Ashlei says:

    Maybe it’s just me but that sure looks like marijuana leaves on the cookies! Good luck on your finals! Mine start tomorrow! One week until I’m done! Yay!! Can’t wait for summer – lots of plans with the boy, and lots of travelling. 🙂

  • Erica says:

    aw! So fun to look back at all the great memories you had in your place. Sounds like you have a fabulous summer planned as well. Good luck with the last push!

  • Lele says:

    This is too cute 😀

    I never really said a proper goodbye to my first apartment at college. My last night there my roommate was gone and my dad didn’t want to pay for a hotel so he stayed over… and I slept on the living room floor cause I couldn’t handle his unbelievably loud snoring. It was pretty anticlimactic.

  • solskinn88 says:

    I loved this post, it put a huge smile on my face. So many great memories, and think about all the exciting stuff that is ahead of you.
    My favorite memory from last year have to be learning Polish. Haha, such a nerd, I know. I have wanted to learn that language for so long, and finally managed to do it, so it gave me a good feeling of accomplishment. The fact that I was finally ready to open up and admit that I needed help and support to recover from anorexia is also something I shall never forget.
    This year I am also looking forward to becoming even more healthy and stronger, to go back to University and to start living life as outgoing, weird Hedda.

    Ops, a long comment! Well, keep it up, your blog is an positive aspect of my day! 🙂

  • I love the name of your blog- too cute!! Congrats on the new apartment! Must feel great to be in a new place, but stressful, I’m sure! Those cookies definitely made me giggle, by the way 🙂 Hope you have a great Friday girl!!

  • Thanks for the comment earlier!!

    That pizza looks divineeeeee! And good luck finishing up finals!!

  • Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    I am never going to write an ode to my first dorm room, but right now I have a great flat with a friend of mine. Living situations are grand but a pain to deal with paperwork!
    Katherine

  • love your ode to your first apartment. i have a lot of fond memories of my first one too. 🙂

  • Katie says:

    What fun highlights!! I have a million memories of my first apartment, too. Definitely something I won’t forget, for better or worse. 😉

    1. Favorite memory of the last year…going to Mexico with my in-laws during the Christmas season – it was such a fun escape!
    2. Looking forward…hopefully staring a family. 🙂

  • Tara Savage says:

    Haha lovin th e cookie creations! =P
    Congrats on getting your first appartment, how exciting!!!
    It sure looks like you have hada grat year, I can tpick just one favorite memorie fromthis year but ONe thing that stands out was getting my tattoo!!
    Im looking forward to missions trips andnot being in school. WOOT WOOT!! 😀
    ❤ ❤ ❤

  • Sana says:

    yay! congrats on the first apartment! Did you cut the pizza? what a smart idea!!!

  • Nicci says:

    I’m definitely looking forward to a trip to Chicago nad meeting other bloggers. Then I would say running some races and focusing on relationships.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ode to my first apartment at Little Miss Potato.

meta

