a bit of confusion.

June 7, 2010 § 8 Comments

Hello friends! If you knew me in real life you would swear I’m a basket case. I’ve been a moody mess and incredibly passive and indecisive recently. Case in point: A bunch of my friends graduated high school this week so I went to support them….

My girls circa ’07! Most of us met in PE class and went on to celebrate a sassy Quince together. Three years later, the last few ladies in the group have finally finished up school and are moving on the bigger and better things!

This is one of the only pictures I have from the other night. I said a few quick hey’s and gave hugs. But it wasn’t long before I ran for the door. Most my closest friends were throwing parties but I passed for fear of high calorie drinks and dinner. Seriously. What the hell is wrong with me?
As you all know I’m back in good old SC for the summer. After a mini melt down last week on vacation, (post on VA trip soon!) I’ve come to a conclusion. Going back to school in NM is not in my best interest. While I enjoyed my time there, I think my purpose is to find a university that will better fit my needs.

The bf is still out west (in upstate NM) for now. He seems to like it well enough but didn’t attend the university I did. For now he is working and doing some traveling this summer with no plans to come out east. Naturally,
I’m pretty bummed out about it! I think a combination of school searching, body woes, and beau missing has got me down.

You might be thinking- where is the fun in any of this?!? I’m young and should be having the time of my life! I want that. 😀

If you lllllllurrrrrve giving advice, this post is for you! Hit me up and tell me your experiences. I’m young and winningly naive. How did you find the school of your dreams?

Here is what I’m looking for in a school and the community.

Annie’s Hot Pink Wish List
Medium to large city (or access to larger cities)
Good public transportation
Massage therapy/future opportunities
Active community (yoga, running, bike friendly)
Sun>snow
NO MORE desert living
Near ocean if possible
Progressive psychology program
On campus living
Maybe off campus living with SEVERAL roommates
School spirit/campus activities/games
Rock wall/large activity center
Photography classes (even for non majors)
Inexpensive tuition
Smaller class sizes
Artsy community
Healthy/trendy 🙂 restaurants/grocery stores
Travel opportunities in school

I feel like I’m in 10th grade all over again searching for scholarships and open house days. More than likely I’ll stick around in Myrtle working and going to community college for a semester (which is ok by me). I’d really just like to form a plan and get moving!

§ 8 Responses to a bit of confusion.

  • How fun! What are you going back to school for?

  • Since you are in SC have you ever thought about College of Charleston? It’s a small city but it seems to meet most of your criteria. I went to Clemson (I never thought I would end up in-state but I was tempted by free in-state education!) & even though I enjoyed it, I always recommend smaller schools over the huge institutions now. My main advice though is to not stress too much! My little sister actually went to two different colleges & hated them before finding where she is now (an Art school). Good luck with everything!

  • Good for you realizing what you want! (or don’t want 🙂 )
    I actually went through the same thing. I spent my Freshman year at the University of San Francisco and hated it. Deciding to come home was one of the hardest decisions I have ever made! I ended up coming home and going to a community college for a year before transferring to San Diego State University. Well, after a year there, they told me that they wouldn’t allow me to change my major. So, that was another deal breaker. I am now transferring to Oregon State University in September and I plan to finish up my schooling there!

    Your criteria actually sounds a lot like Oregon State or even Berkeley!

  • I AM in 10th grade, so I can’t help you much… (Actually, I’m going to be in tenth 2010-2011.)

    I’m sorry and I hope you will figure everything out! Do you read the Bible? A verse I like is Jeremiah 29:11: “I [God] know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out—plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.” (from The Message)

    -Alisha 🙂

  • I’m biased because it’s my school, BUT consider the University of Colorado. There is definitely snow here though.. and no ocean… and it’s also a bigger environment w/ big classes, but as far as the community you are describing, Boulder has it! It’s extremely pedestrian and bike friendly, lots of locally owned restaurants (as well as several Whole Foods/ other healthy grocery stores), it seems like everyone here does yoga or runs.. etc etc! There are probably other similar towns/cities that have that PLUS the school stuff you are looking for.. but I thought I’d throw it out there anyway 🙂

  • I think going to a community college while you figure out what is best for you is a great plan. Keep your chin up girl!

  • come to VCU with me! they have awesome programs 🙂

  • northlandrunner says:

    I transfered schools 3 times until I found the school of my dreams. You’ll know when you see it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading a bit of confusion. at Little Miss Potato.

meta

