virginia is for berries & coasters

June 11, 2010 § 19 Comments

Hello! Your favorite freak out blogger is back! 😉

I wanted to take the time to recap my trip to Virginia Beach last month. My mom, youngest brother, and a family friend visited my cousin, her fiance, and two kids. We arrived early Saturday morning after a long night of driving in the rain. I made sure to pack a few movies and books to keep me occupied.

By the time we got there it was almost four in the morning. My little cousins are light sleepers and woke up to greet us…kind of. They tend to play the shy card for the first few minutes (I did the same thing when I was younger!). It wasn’t long before they warmed up. 🙂

Around seven that morning everyone finally fell asleep. By ten my mom, cousin Cyndy, and I went to watch her daughter’s ice skating lesson. She did a great job showing off her newest spins and tricks. I never realized how much time and money goes into this sport! Growing up I thought dance was expensive (needing new shoes each year, costumes, etc.). I was blown away listening to the moms talk about spending x hundred dollars on new shoes and blades, competitions, travel fees. Also, certain mothers (there were about fifteen girls there for private lessons) kept talking about body types and weight gain. It just made me cringe listening to it! I cannot stand diet and weight talk around young girls. I feel like it is too risky to be brought up. They are vulnerable and I would hate for them to have negative body image. I get so crazy and they are virtually strangers to me.

After her lesson and some eavesdropping, we went back to round up the crew for the Strawberry Festival. AKA the best day ever. I enjoyed some roasted corn, lemonade, fries, and funnel cake (with only a teeny bit of guilt).

After a long day of laughing feasting, and walking we went home. Don’t worry, we got our strawberry fix! There were several local venders selling my favorite fruit. Later that night we all enjoyed pretzels, vegan marshmallows, vegan chocolate, and strawberries. Le sigh. And all was right with the world.
On Sunday morning we left for Busch Gardens. If you ever have the opportunity to visit, go for it! The park is beautiful and broken up into different “countries”.  I’ve been to Dorney Park (Pennsylvania), Disney World, Universal Studios, and even Cedar Point. But I think I’ve found my new favorite in Williamsburg, VA!

It was Memorial Day weekend and it was crowded. I thought parking and walking in would take forever. The neat thing is, Busch Gardens has shuttle buses that arrive every few minutes.

                                   We saw a bunny running through the flowers and hiding in the bushes in Italy!                   
After a packed picnic lunch (where my pictures at?!? 😉 ), the big kids headed for the coasters. For lunch my cousin packed homemade pasta salad, strawberries, watermelon, sandwiches, chips and salsa, and lots of other snackies. Yum! We made a stop at the car to get changed. Check out Youtube videos of Escape from Pompeii if you want to see why. This ride takes you from fiyah burnin’ to water splashing in a matter of seconds.

Theme parks never fail to bring my brothers and I (or in the case just Eric and I) closer. We all love thrill rides, comparing them, sizing them up, and screaming bloody murder on the first drop. Here we are sitting over The Griffon. Something unique about this coaster is the first drop. Before the big fall, the ride holds you for several seconds at the top. :0

I was having way too much fun that I forgot to take photos later on in the day. This just means you’ll have to go check out the park for yourselves. Call me when ya do! 😉

§ 19 Responses to virginia is for berries & coasters

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading virginia is for berries & coasters at Little Miss Potato.

meta

